top of page

Who we are

The Rome Reformation platform was founded in 2017 and arose from a desire for visible unity between the church of Rome and the churches of the Reformation. Former participants were Bram van de Beek, Eddy Van der Borght, Eric Bouter, Ad de Bruijne, Paul van Geest, Andries Knevel, Gerard de Korte, Samuel Lee, Hendro Musterman, Arjan Plaisier, Marcel Sarot and Diederik Wienen and (later) Fokke Wouda. Based on mutual discussions and reflection,  “Rome Declaration – Reformation”  to arise. Due to the corona period (2019-2021), this Declaration has remained in the drawer. A new impetus was given by a meeting with theologians from both traditions in June 2023. The text has been adjusted and prepared for signing. The names of the majority of these theologians, in addition to those of most of the original participants in the Platform, are listed below the declaration.


The Rome Reformation Platform has continued in a slimmed down form after the corona period and now consists of Eric Bouter, Arjan Plaisier (chairman), Marcel Sarot, Diederik Wienen and Fokke Wouda.

bottom of page